Future Designer Innovation Design Awards & Science contest

Deadline: 30th September 2023 | Future Designer Innovation Design Awards & Science Contest

Do you have an idea for an original design which advocates for sustainable development while addressing the pressing challenges facing the world, such as environmental degradation and biodiversity loss, climate change, food and water insecurity or energy poverty? Are you a secondary school pupil or undergraduate or graduate student at university? If yes, then apply for the 2023 Future Designer Innovation Design Awards & Science Contest.


The 2023 Future Designer International Innovation Design Awards (IIDA) & Science for SDGs Innovation Contest will solicit innovation and creative works from young people around the world to raise awareness of and advocate for the important role of Science, Engineering and STEM in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The IIDA is co-organized by UNESCO and the Organizing Committee of Future Designers International Innovation Design Awards & Science for SDGs Innovation Contest, carried out by the UNESCO-UNITRAIN Youth Competence Development Project, supported by the Organizing Committee of National College Digital Art & Design Awards (NCDA).


  • Winners will be presented with a certificate jointly issued by UNESCO and IIDA. IIDA and UNESCO will promote the works of the winners on social media. All of the winners will be invited to attend the award ceremony held in Shanghai, China in early December 2023. The winners will be announced on 31 October 2023.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The IIDA welcomes the participation of young people from around the world. However, for this first edition in 2023, the IIDA is exclusively open to college and university students.
  • In China, only award-winning works of NCDA are eligible to participate.
  • They welcome a diverse range of works that advocate Science for the SDGs. These include but are not limited to, posters, videos, GIFs, illustrations, games, apps, interactive designs, as well as sustainable designs such as products, automobiles, packaging, decorations, fashion, architecture, interior design, landscape design, and public art. Entries are categorized into four distinct categories: media design, product design, environmental design, and art & science.


  • The requirements for entries are as follows:
  • Still images: Format: JPG, Resolution: 300 dpi, Size: Not less than A3, Maximum of 5 pictures in JPG format for each work.
  • Video: MP4, Resolution: HD, Duration: Not exceeding 8 minutes, File size: Not exceeding 500 MB.

For more information, visit UNESCO.

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

× Inquire Now