the Global Development Awards Competition 2023

Deadline: 28th September 2023 | The Global Development Awards Competition 2023

The Policy and Human Resources Development Fund (PHRD) trust fund, managed by the World Bank, and generously sponsored by the Ministry of Finance, Government of Japan, are the sources of funding for the Global Development Awards Competition 2023, a creative award programme run by GDN.


The ‘Nexus of Education, Development, and Human Security’ is the focus of the the Global Development Awards Competition 2023 edition.


The Japanese Award for Excellent Developmental Research (ORD)

  • With a high potential for quality in research and clear policy implications for solving development concerns, this award programme recognises and rewards outstanding research projects in low- or middle-income countries.
  • Grants totaling $60,000 will be given to the three winning projects. The researcher(s) whose ideas show the most promise for advancing our understanding of development concerns will get the grants. Their proposals must present clear, convincing, and thoroughly studied policy implications to address pertinent developmental difficulties.
  • A grant worth $30,000 will be given to the first-place winner. Grants of $20,000 and $10,000 will be given to the winners of the second and third places, respectively.
  • The money will be used to support the winners’ suggested research projects as they near completion. Award recipients will also be matched with a top scholar in their field who will serve as a Scientific and Technical Advisor.
  • Finalists will be invited to participate in a communications workshop in order to prepare a presentation of their project in front of a distinguished jury in April 2024, which will decide which research proposal will be funded. Projects are anticipated to begin in June 2024.

The Most Innovative Development Project Award (MIDP) in Japan

  • The award programme solicits project applications from non-profit NGOs and CSOs that promote (in particular) enhanced service delivery and creative strategies that may be scaled up through a grant. In accordance with the World Bank’s classification of developing countries as low and middle income countries, the award is given to projects that are currently in the implementation stage and have a high potential for impact.
  • Grants totaling $125,000 will be given to the winning projects. The awards will be given to organisations whose projects best demonstrate an innovative strategy for meeting a critical development need and show the most promise for: directly addressing the needs of the most vulnerable and underserved groups to improve their lives with an eye towards quick results for improved livelihood; supporting initiatives that result in the development of sustainable outcomes through the scaling-up of the project.
  • Each of the two first-place winners for each subject will get a reward worth $50,000. A gift of $25,000 USD will be given to the second place winner. A Technical Advisor will also be assigned to each awardee for the duration of the grant’s execution.
  • Finalists will be invited to participate in a communications workshop in order to practise presenting their initiatives to a high-level Jury, which will choose which research proposals to fund in April 2023, with projects beginning in June 2024.
    Award from the Japan Social Development Fund (JSDF)

  • The MIDP Award selected projects that have the potential to have a positive development impact and be replicable, and the JSDF award focuses on piloting those projects. The goal of the JSDF Award is to assist community-driven development and poverty reduction initiatives that improve living conditions for the underprivileged and vulnerable groups in eligible nations by boosting productivity, expanding access to social and community services, and improving infrastructure.
    After completing their MIDP grants for at least 12 months, the two first-place winners will compete for the JSDF award. GDN will evaluate the plans’ appropriateness for a significantly higher grant, up to US$ 200,000, under the scope of the Japan Social Development Fund (JSDF), which is run by the World Bank.

eligible nations

Afghanistan; Albania; Algeria; American Samoa; Angola; Argentina; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Bangladesh; Belarus; Belize; Benin; Bhutan; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cabo Verde; Cambodia; Cameroon; Central African Republic; Chad; China; Comoros; Colombia; Costa Rica; Congo, Dem. Rep; Congo, Rep.; Cote d’Ivoire; Cuba; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Eritrea; Eswatini; Equatorial Guinea; Ethiopia; Fiji; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Ghana; Grenada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; India; Indonesia; Iran; Iraq; Kenya; Kiribati; ; Jamaica; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kosovo; Kyrgyz Republic; Lao; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Libya; Madagascar; Malaysia; Malawi; Maldives; Mali; Marshall Islands; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Micronesia; Moldova; Mongolia; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Nepal; Namibia; Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; North Macedonia; Pakistan; Papua New Guinea; Panama; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Romania; Russian Federation; Rwanda; Samoa; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Serbia; Sierra Leone; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; South Sudan; Sri Lanka; St. Lucia; St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Sudan; Suriname; Syrian Arab Republic; Tajikistan; Tanzania; Timor-Leste; Thailand; Togo; Tonga; Tunisia; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Tuvalu; Uganda; Ukraine; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Vietnam; West Bank and Gaza; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe.


  • Japanese Award for Outstanding Developmental Research
  • Only the researchers on the aforementioned list are eligible for the ORD, and both their project and citizenship must be based in one of the nations on the list.
  • Citizens of eligible nations who are presently residing in non-eligible countries are also qualified to apply, but only if they have not yet reached the age of five as of January 1, 2024.
  • Previous ORD finalists and winners are ineligible to submit applications with the same or a related research topic. In addition, winners are ineligible to reapply for three years after their contract with GUN expires.
  • Women researchers are actively encouraged to participate and apply by GDN.
  • Each candidate might only be a part of one proposal.
  • Most Innovative Development Project in Japan Award
  • Non-profit NG0s and CSOs from the aforementioned categories are welcome to submit applications for projects that are currently in the execution stage through the MIDP. To qualify, a project’s execution must have begun on or before June 1, 2022.
  • Additionally, in accordance with the national legal system (for example, in India, the NGO/CSO must comply with FCRA), NG0s/CSOs qualifying for the MIDP category must be qualified to receive funding from overseas.
  • Winners from prior years may reapply, but they must revise their applications to reflect any changes to their projects. The MIDP is not open to previous winners.
  • A single application may be submitted by an organisation.
  • By the end of 2023, the maximum age for all applicants will be 45. People who will be 45 or older on January 1, 2024, are ineligible to apply.
  • Up to five years after the end of their employment, former and current GDN employees (including interns and participants in assessment teams) and its Regional Network Partners are ineligible to apply.

Visit the Global Development Network (GDN) for further details.

Related Posts

× Text your Inquiry!