Call for Nominations UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2023 (cash prize of $100,000)

The UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award honors a number of people, teams, or organizations each year for their extraordinary commitment to defending and supporting refugees, internally displaced people, and stateless people. (Call for Nominations UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2023)

Deadline: March 17, 2023

An independent Selection Committee will decide the global laureate and regional winners, who will be notified in late 2023. There will be no disclosure of any information on the selection process or the status of your nomination.

WhatsApp Link: Click Here
Telegram Link: Click Here


  • A commemorative medal and a cash prize of $100,000 will be awarded to the 2023 global laureate, who will use it to further the humanitarian causes for which they are being honored.
  • A lesser monetary award will be given to certain regional winners so they can continue their charitable efforts.
  • Anyone may nominate a candidate for the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award. If you nominated someone in the past but they did not win, you may nominate them again.
  • The strongest nominations will provide a detailed account of the candidate’s work and results for displaced or stateless people, as well as three solid references to vouch for their character and impact. References should not all come from the same organization or group.
  • Self-nominations are strongly discouraged. Current or former UNHCR employees are not eligible.
  • The deadline to submit nominations is midnight CET, 17 March 2023. Late submissions not considered.
Selection criteria
  • Candidates may be individuals, groups or organizations.
  • Their work must have a direct and positive impact on the lives of forcibly displaced or stateless people.
  • Their work relates to a major displacement situation or issue. This year they especially encourage nominations that relate to inclusion or solutions, which will be central themes of the Global Forum on Refugees in December 2023, but this is optional.
  • They devote substantial time and effort to support forcibly displaced or stateless people, going above and beyond the call of duty and outside their expected role.
  • Have the capacity to successfully implement a suitable project with the prize money (US$100,000 for the global laureate, US$25,000 for regional winners).
  • They have three strong references.

For further information and to apply, visit UNHCR org.

WhatsApp Link: Click Here
Telegram Link: Click Here

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

× Inquire Now