Sustainable Protection Fund 2022 for Sub-Saharan Africa (up to €15,000)

Deadline: 24th July 2022.

Deadline: 24th July 2022.

Apply right away to take advantage of the benefits as the Digital Defenders Partnership (DDP) is currently accepting submissions for the Sustainable Protection Fund 2022 (Africa).

The Sustainable Protection Fund 2022 aims to help human rights organisations or collectives build their long-term digital security capacities. This year, the grant provides up to €15,000 and aims to support more organisations for activities that reach a maximum of one year.

The Sustainable Protection Fund covers a number of costs which contribute to strengthening an organisation or collective’s capacity to respond to digital threats. These can include, for example:

  • New computers, servers, or hosting for data or websites.
  • Technical support in implementing new systems.
  • Training or accompaniment processes on digital security or other aspects of security and protection.
  • Actions to improve physical security, which support information management and digital security.
  • Measures to address the psychological and psycho-social impacts of digital threats.

However, the Sustainable Protection Fund does not cover:

  • Core organisational funding, such as the payment of salaries or stipends.
  • Support for ongoing project activities.
  • Fill a funding gap.
  • Advocacy work.
  • Research work.
  • Living costs or allowances.
  • Medical costs (apart from psychological and/or psychosocial support).
  • Upkeep.

To be considered, the project proposed should be based on an analysis of your organisation’s risk, and activities should correspond to solutions to those risks. It is also necessary that the project proposed will contribute to the long-term resilience and sustainability of the organisation.


The Sustainable Protection Fund is open regionally, and the following groups are specifically encouraged to apply:

  • Women human rights defenders and feminist organisations.
  • LGBTQIA+ organisations.
  • Land and environmental rights defenders.
  • Journalists and other actors who make information available to the public.
  • Countries covered by Sub Saharan Africa SPF 2022 these include: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, DR Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Click here to apply

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

× Inquire Now