Outstanding projects in education for sustainable development will be recognized with the 2023 UNESCO-Japan Reward (US$ 50,000 prize).

Deadline: April 21, 2023

Call for Nominations for UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development 2023

April 21, 2023 deadline for applications

Three annual awards of USD 50,000 are given out as part of the government of Japan-funded UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development. In November 2015, the UNESCO Director-General presented it for the first time.


UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development


ALL Nationalities


$ 50,000


April 21, 2023



WhatsApp Link:

Click Here

Telegram Link:

Click Here

The winners of the prizes and awards acknowledge the importance of education in bridging the social, economic, cultural, and environmental components of sustainable development. It was formally declared during the UNESCO World Conference on ESD and formed by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 195th session as part of the Global Action Programme (GAP) on ESD (10-12 November 2014, Aichi-Nagoya, Japan).

The Prize was renewed as a result of the Executive Board’s decision 207 EX/10.III.B in November 2019. In the revised cycle, the Prize will be administered for six years (2020–2025) and given out once every two years (i.e. 2021, 2023 and 2025).


Institutions and organizations with a particular ESD project or program that meets the following criteria are eligible for the Prize:

      be ongoing and have been operating for at least 4 years;

      demonstrate the presence of evidence of results and a high impact relative to the invested resources; and

      be replicable and scalable.

      contribute to one or more of the ESD for 2030 framework’s 5 priority action areas (i.e. advancing policy, transforming learning and training environments, developing capacities of educators and trainers, mobilizing youth, accelerating sustainable solutions at local level, please refer to the page 25-34 of ESD for 2030 roadmap for more details).


·      Two representatives from each laureate will be invited by UNESCO to the award ceremony, which typically takes place in Paris in October or November (all dates are announced on the Prize home page).

·      Each laureate will receive a prize, a diploma, and US$50,000 in addition to other things. In the week leading up to the award ceremony, the money will be deposited to their bank account.

·      The ESD-Net 2030 will extend an invitation to all winners, allowing them to engage in dialogue and collaboration with ESD stakeholders from around the world.

For Additional Information

Visit the UNESCO-Japan Prize 2023 link to apply

Join Your Opportunities Africa on Telegram as well as Whatsapp for more opportunity updates


Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

× Inquire Now