Michael Elliott Award 2023 for Excellence in African Storytelling ($5,000 cash prize)

Deadline: January 31, 2023.

Deadline: January 31, 2023.

The Michael Elliott Award 2023 for Excellence in African Storytelling has a call for entries, announced by the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), the ONE Campaign, and the Elliott family.

The Prize was created in memory of Michael Elliott, a distinguished editor, generous donor, and former ICFJ director whose life served as a living example of the ability of narrative to illuminate and elevate the human condition.

The prize recognizes rising African journalists who work to amplify the voices of the populace and shed light on the profound shift occurring there. The submissions for the award must be innovative journalism released between December 1, 2021, and December 1, 2022.

Michael Elliott Award 2023 for Excellence in African Storytelling winners chosen based on the caliber of their writings and the effect that their contributions have had on localities. They encourage good submissions in all forms of media, especially those that show strong analytical thinking along with exceptional writing.

  • The winners will receive a $5,000 cash prize and a personalized crystal award.
  • The winners will have an opportunity to spend up to two weeks at the Economist headquarters in London, or to complete a tailored study tour of US newsrooms.


  • Open to English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast, and online news media.
  • Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Applicants must submit one published piece that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling. They look for impactful investigative or explanatory pieces, especially those illuminating transformational change in Africa.
  • A copy of the published story or broadcast clip submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations.
  • They welcome submissions from print, broadcast, or digital journalists. Multimedia submissions may include web, audio, video, visual, or mixed media.
  • The submitted story published between December 1, 2021, and December 1, 2022.
  • You may get the application form for the 2023 cycle here.
  • For further information, visit ICFJ

Join us on Telegram as well as Whatsapp for more opportunity updates

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

× Inquire Now